When life gives you lemons, put them on your face!

So I have a little problem. It’s to do with my face. You see, as a child growing up with disney princesses and Sailor moon, I had the deluded idea that when I eventually stepped into the magical world of adolescence, I’d look pretty good. In the immortal words of Lex Luther, played by the ever talented Kevin Spacey ‘WRONG’

Acne. That’s a thing. That’s a thing that always goes away after teenage years right?
No. That’s a filthy lie. At the age of twenty-two I am still suffering from the little bastards and even when its calmed down a tad and I don’t have any breakouts, I still have the scars in plain views.
Luckily there are a few tricks that I’ve picked up, mostly from vegan sites, that have actually helped a lot. It doesn’t involve having to spend an arm and a leg on serums, or have lasers zap at your face (which I always see as a plus) and most importantly, for a miser like me, it’s cheap.
As you may have guessed, the first trick involves lemons. And nothing else. You simply get the juice from a lemon and apply it to the scars. Because I have sensitive skin I like to mix the lemon with a little honey (2 parts lemon, 1 part honey) and apply it as a mask. Honey is also great at fading scars and redness and acts as a moisturiser as well. I leave it on for about half an hour and then I just rinse it off with warm water. Honey is surprisingly easy to wash off.
I should mention though, if you’re hoping to get rid of acne scars and you have dark skin, do not use lemons. Just stick with the honey.
Lemon is good for pale skin because it lightens it, thus reducing the appearance of darker scars, but if you want to keep your skin it’s beautiful natural colour then they should be avoided.

Other options include rosehip oil, aloe vera and coconut oil, but be prepared to be patient. Healing takes time and you might not necessarily notice a difference right away.

So there’s a few tips for the folks out there who, like me, didn’t look so fresh faced when they were a teen, and are still dealing with the consequences of that unfairness. Have a grumble, and then reach for the lemons.

Leave a Reply

