The Magnitone Lucid Facial Cleansing Brush, i.e The Face Toothbrush

A few years back, all any of the beauty writers could talk about was how amazing the Clarisonic was, how much better their skin was, how it was a beauty essential. When I saw one my first thought was, ‘oh, so it’s like a big toothbrush for your face’

And that’s kind of what it is really.

Unfortunately, back then, and right now, I didn’t have a spare £200 lying around so the Clarisonic was and still is out of reach for me.

But isn’t it great when other companies decide to rip off a good idea?

This month I was able to get my grubby little paws on a cheaper version of the Clarisonic, the Magnitone Lucid Facial Cleansing Brush. Bit of a mouthful, so I’ll just call it Lucid for the meantime. I read a few reviews online that stated it was gentler than the Clarisonic, and as I suffer from oily yet sensitive skin, this seemed like a plus. It was also £70, so, with my recent Christmas money, it was something I could actually afford. It was advertised in pink, but I got it in blue because I’m a rebel.

So, is it worth the dough?

Read on and ye shall know.

According to it’s blurb ‘The Magnitone Lucid Facial Brush (Travel Size) gently cleanses and exfoliates your skin to remove residues, impurities and dead skin cells using Active Electromagnetic Technology. Featuring two cleansing modes, the soft brush produces over 10000 fast-pulsing rotation-oscillations per minute to deeply and effectively clean and smooth your skin.’

Ooh, sounds science-y. But I still go by my own personal blurb that it’s really just a big electric toothbrush.

magnitone lucid facial cleansing brush

Magnitone lucid facial cleansing brush- in four fancy colours

When I first tried it out I noticed two things. It was near impossible for my face wash to foam when over ‘10000 fast-pulsing rotation-oscillations per minute’ are attacking your skin, so it felt a little rough even when it was on sensitive mode. However I also noticed that my skin felt amazing afterwards. Perfectly smooth and clean, and felt just as good the next morning. So, no pain no gain I guess.

After a few days of use I also noticed that my overall complexion seemed better. Fewer blemishes, brighter skin and less visible blackheads. I didn’t expect such a noticeable change but I guess there was a reason this product got such great reviews.

My makeup went on better because there were no rough patches to catch the foundation, however I found that my skin was much oilier by the end of the day. Stimulating the skin, just like stimulating the scalp, helps produce natural oils, so I can’t really act surprised with the decrease in my blotting paper supply.

For those with dry skin this product would be a godsend, and honestly it’s pretty good for those with oily to combination skin as well (just get a good mattifying primer and pick your moisturisers carefully).

For those who care about design it comes in three colours: a light olive green, a sickly yellow, a bright pink and a bold blue. It’s easy to clean and takes very little time for the brush to dry.

I should also mention that it’s waterproof so you can use it in the shower. Handy right?

Have any of you used it? Or something similar? Maybe some of you have the famous Clarisonic. I heard it’s kind of popular. I’d love to hear other opinions on if these products are worth the hype, or if good ol’ soap and water is the way to go.

Leave a Reply

